A Shiny New Year.

I am really excited for 2015 for many reasons.

-Sonoran Distance Project Team new sponsor Procter & Gamble!!! New team members capping us at 16 women strong.

-Family trip to Europe this summer

-Big running goals; qualifying for Olympic Marathon Trials by easily running that sub 2:43 marathon

-Running camp this summer with Oiselle in Washington

-applying to grad school at ASU for Exercise and Wellness-Healthy Aging

-celebrating 19 years of marriage with my sweetie

To name a few! I feel like I could add a lot more. I was reading Lauren Fleshman’s blog the other day and it really hit home and inspired me (like she always does). Check it out here http://www.oiselle.com/blog/year-i-take-chances

PG_logo   YEAH our new sponsor for Sonoran Distance Project.

THIS YEAR I WILL TAKE A LEAP EVEN WHEN ITS SCARY!

Taking a leap!

Taking a leap!

I WILL HAVE BALANCE IN RUNNING, SCHOOL, FAMILY AND LIFE!

Having balance, even when its tough.

Having balance, even when its tough.

THIS YEAR I WILL FINISH ON TOP OF THE WORLD KNOWING I GAVE IT MY ALL TO CHASE DOWN BIG DREAMS!

Being on the top.

Being on the top. Katherine State Gymnastics All Around Champion!

I WILL TAKE RISKS AND TRUST MY STUFF BOLDY AND WITH CONFIDENCE

Taking a risk and trusting your stuff.

Taking a risk and trusting your stuff. Josh pitching for first time in 2yrs to win  final championship Little League game.

Little bit of a proud mom sharing alert. I looked back at this year and cannot believe it was only one year for Katherine. She finished 8th grade and started high school all while accomplishing so much!! She finished off her gymnastics career by winning All Around and Vault State Champion Titles competed at Region 10 gymnastics meet scoring her highest score on floor for her last gymnastics routine. She helped her jr high xcountry team go undefeated all season and win the championship then rush across town for a gymnastics meet. She graduated from 8th grade, took up pole vaulting, had a successful high school xcountry season qualifying for state and improving her times all season. She ran in the Region 10 xcountry meet (yes two regional meets two different sports). She did outstanding on the PSAT as a freshman! Attended her first high school dance!  She has blossomed into a beautiful young woman and has a bright future in front of her.

Strong and graceful

Strong and graceful

Tempe Prep girls team, undefeated all season!

Tempe Prep jr high girls team, undefeated all season!

Pole vault camp

Pole vault camp

High school state xcountry meet

High school state xcountry meet

Homecoming

Homecoming

Josh has had an amazing year also. I can’t believe he is almost a teenager! He started the year finishing off his 1st jr high xcountry season, he worked hard all season and helped his team tie for 2nd at championships. Last spring he played his final year of Little League (too old next year), they had a great season.  It all came down to the final night they had to win game 1 to make it to game 2 and have a win for the championship. Josh had not pitched in 2 years but was the only pitcher the last game and helped his team to a victory. Talk about a nervous mom! This fall he played soccer again and his jr high team was successful in capturing the championship. Soccer finished and he jumped right back into xcountry. this year he ran the USATF Region 10 meet in Flagstaff and qualified for the National meet. Unfortunately he started to develop Achilles tendonitis training for Nationals. We decided to go anyway and enjoy the experience, he is all ready to go back next year.

Josh Little League Champions

Josh Little League Champions

Josh soccer champions.

Josh soccer champions.

USATF regional xcountry

USATF regional xcountry

Josh USAT Junior Olympic National xcountry meet

Josh USAT Junior Olympic National xcountry meet

Recapping the kids year I wonder how many miles I drove and hours I spent in the car, healthy meals I cooked, snacks I packe, water bottles filled uniforms washed, etc. One thing is for sure they are memories I will cherish for a lifetime.

My year started with a running injury that would prove to be stubborn as hell. It seemed like the pain in my butt, elbow and vision problems would never go away. Well after many doctors, treatments and finally finding the right person to help me I started on the road to recovery this summer. This fall I was able to build a pyramid of strength to power my running, adding miles and finally introducing speed. It has been a long road to recovery with more patience than I ever thought possible, but I did it! Returning to school has been awesome and crazy busy. The last two weeks with taking Josh to Myrtle Beach for Nationals and finishing finals and a research paper almost put me over the edge. I am so thankful for my supportive husband Kevin and kids for all supporting me on my journeys this year. I could not do it without them.

I am so excited for 2015.

WHAT ARE YOUR GOALS, DREAMS, DESIRES, RESOLUTIONS FOR THIS YEAR? I WOULD LOVE TO HEAR ABOUT THEM.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kelly LeCours
    Jan 02, 2015 @ 01:45:02

    Wow Kerry congratulations to you and your amazing children!! Thank you for sharing your struggle with injury and persevering. May you reach all of your 2015 goals!! I will be following you and the other SDP ladies!! Happy New Year! CHEERS!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

