Putting in the miles!

Dads and cousins on the steps at ASU

Dads and cousins on the steps at ASU

I knew this week would be a busy one! Family in town, Easter, kids on spring break, gymnastics practices, Little League games and practice, track meet and that is just a few of the highlights. My goal was to get my miles in and my strength/core training. I was doing pretty good until about Wed when Katherine got a bad cold which I also caught.

Josh had another track meet. It was really fun to watch him race! My friend Flash’s daughter Kiara is on a team so got to see her run too. Josh took 20 sec off his 300o meter (don’t we all do that?) running 12:04 and that included a stop before the last lap. He was sprinting trying not to let an older kid pass and I thought “I think he thinks he is done” Yep stopped and then we were screaming “go Josh 1 more lap”. He looked around a bit confused then sprinted out 1 more lap. He had a slight improvement in the 800m running 2:53.

Josh and Kiara

Josh and Kiara

Fast kids, Fast parents

Fast kids, Fast parents

It was a tough and busy week. I tried my best to hold it all together, I was able to make all my runs I think I can formally thank Susan Loken since we finally got to run together. We completed 4 runs, speedwork, mountain hill runs, tempo runs. It was just like old times. She helped me make it through and have some great workouts. What would we do without training partners!!!!!

relaxing and icing on the patio after our 12 miler with pups on Easter.

relaxing and icing on the patio after our 12 miler with pups on Easter.

I was able to make it to Bikram Yoga and was doing great until it came to “fixed fern pose” you kneel and sit heels on your butt. OUCH my achilles was not happy. Finally got it checked out this week. Just a little inflammation in front of the achilles, a little manipulation on my foot and it feels much better already. It has been fine when I am running though. After our 12 mile run I was working multiple ice packs; Achilles and my arm (story for another day).

We had a great Easter brunch with the family: salmon, egg veggie casserole, mixed green salads with golden beets, lentils with red pepper and balsamic vinegar and my new favorite red potatoes with kale basil pesto.

camberg visit track meet2 023 Red potatoes with homemade kale basil pesto, so yummy and great carbs!

I have successfully been increasing my miles and was at 54 last week. Running consistently for 6 days per week for awhile now. I need to improve my yoga practice and continue to incorporate strength training focusing on my glutes, hamstrings and core. Looking forward to upcoming races.

camberg visit track meet2 022Loving my new Oiselle High 10 Shimmel top. When this arrived in the mail I knew it would be a running favorite before I even wore it. Great fit and fabric. Comes in multiple colors, I think I have to order another one soon! http://www.oiselle.com/shop/running-tops/high-10-shimmel Not sure if I will go for basic black or turquoise.

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

