The lives we live!

It has been another busy crazy action packed week for the Cambergs (which is why I am a bit late on blogging).

Josh ran in his 1st track meet about 10 days ago down in Tucson. This event now holds the record for longest kids sporting event at our house (7.5 hours not including the drive), Katherine’s gymnastics meet held it previously at 5 hrs.

Josh with his new Brooks Track spikes ready to test them out!

Josh with his new Brooks Track spikes ready to test them out!

I had an 8 mile run with hills scheduled. Between his events I packed in the miles and did sprints up and down the parking garage at the high school to get my hill work. Not the most exciting workout but I got her done! I did not want to miss any of his first track meet.

Josh racing 1500m love that form. Dude is flying through the air.

Josh racing 1500m love that form. Dude is flying through the air.

He raced 3 events

3000m ran 12:26

800m 2:55

1500m 554 (it was 87 degrees and super windy after being there over 7 hrs).

IMG_9916In between the events he was having fun hanging out with his new teammates. They started doing Parkour moves on some exercise equipment, well it kept them limber!

Josh performing parkour moves between races.

Josh performing parkour moves between races.

I am really proud of him. It was a long day having gotten up around 5am. He had lots of fun and was proud.

Post Chipolte in my new Oiselle Distance shorts after a very long day!

Post Chipolte in my new Oiselle Distance shorts after a very long day!

All day we talked of eating at El Charro and getting an Eeggee’s frozen drink. By the time we left we were so exhausted we stopped at Chipolte and devoured our food.

The next weekend March 23 was looming as the day we had a huge packed schedule. MDA walk, Little League Opening Day, cousins arriving from out-of-town, 1st baseball game of the season.

MDA walk opening day little league 002Here we are at the MDA walk with my friend Lauri and her son Jared. He was diagnosed with Duchenes when he was 6 yrs old. I still remember the day she called me. We have been doing the walk for 9yrs now.

MDA walk opening day little league 003Lauri and Jareds new plates!!

MDA walk opening day little league 005Jared was blazing the trail on the walk so Katherine decided to run ahead. Next thing I know I see 2 teenage boys in their wheelchair going off course with my daughter getting lost. I told Jared if you are going to be the race leader you must know the course. They had a great time.

Then it was off to Little League. Josh was excited to get called up to the majors last week and play on a team with boys and coach he has played with for several years. So he went from a diamondback to a Yankee! Cant believe I only took 1 picture at the game!! He did great in his first majors game. He was thrilled to have his cousins, Uncle Craig and Aunt Julie at his game.

MDA walk opening day little league 007 We had a great big Mexican feast at our house with all the relatives that night. The kids had fun swimming in the pool and having a jacuzzi party. Then raiding the kitchen for more food. I was trying to corral everyone to bed around 9pm (I had an early wakeup and 16 mile run).

MDA walk opening day little league 010My nephew Andrew was asking me lots of questions about my running. His family got to see me race at California International Marathon in 2011. Loved having them there at mile 18!! When I told the kids I had to get up early to run 16 miles Andrew commented ” I know you like to run Aunt Kerry but really 16 miles, that is a long way”.

MDA walk opening day little league 012Andrews reaction to my 16 mile run talk! No actually just his reaction to drinking straight lemon juice from our lemon tree.

All in all a great week. Ran 54 miles last week! The longest since fall of 2011.

Looking forward to Sactown 10 miler April 7.

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

