Regional Champion!!!!

I have been so busy the last couple weeks! About 10 days ago we went on a road trip to Fullerton, CA to race at Cal State Fullerton. It was a great field size and lots of faster runners. I placed 24th out of about 130 Division 1 schools from around CA. We were the only community college in attendance.

This week was our Regional meet, last race before we head to Nationals. The day before the meet I had my 43rd birthday. My goal at Regionals was to win! I was not sure what to expect and had a few plans formulated in my head. All week I had been visualizing the race to help me mentally prepare.

MCC Women’s Team wins 1st at Regionals

The race started out at a nice easy pace. I had identified a spot about 2miles in after you came up a hill to make my move (or adjust as needed). Prior to the hill we ran down into the center of the park and I found myself in the lead. By the time I was up the hill I was pretty sure I was alone. It is not my habit to look behind me so I did as planned and took off like a crazy fast woman. My friend Flash was at the hill cheering me on. With about 3/4 of a mile to go I took a quick glance and could not even see anyone. I decided to dial it back a bit (save it up for Nationals) and ran it in to finish 1st. I ran 1855 and won by 22 seconds!

I think the best part was my kids standing on the hill cheering and screaming “Go mom”. They were there with big hugs at the finish and were squealing with delight. That made this whole season so worth it. My husband was also there and amazed to see the race unfold.  My mom and her husband Stan got to see the race and several friends came out to cheer me on. It was so nice to have support on the course. The one regret is that my dad was not alive to see this race! I credit him for my running genes. He would have been thrilled to see this race and I am sure would be following me to Nationals.

Our Women’s team won Regionals which has not happened in Division 1 in 20 years!!! The girls and coaches were super excited. We got a super cool huge plaque. I hope they find somewhere nice to display that at MCC. It was a team effort to win the meet and I am so proud of all the girls. The only sad thing is we could only run 7 girls. Bri and Amanda I am so proud of your spirit of the sport for coming out to cheer us on like maniacs and take pictures.

We are heading to Nationals in a week and the race is Nov 10 in Rend Lake, IL. I am buried under a mountain of homework, projects, kids sports and selling our old house. I am taking 1 day at a time and getting a little more rest. The most important part now is the mental training and visualizing winning at Nationals. My ideal goal for our team is a top 5 finish.

I have one bit of mom guilt to contend with. Katherine qualified for the state gymnastics meet and it is the same day as Nationals. I have to break the news to her that i won’t be there to watch her. I think I will wait until after her meet this weekend.  That makes my job at Nationals that much more important. If I am missing out on something so important I darn well better make it worth my time! National Champion here I come!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kristin
    Jul 19, 2013 @ 15:32:48

    It is great when you achieve your goals and keep moving forward! In order to get help with my fitness goals and receive the most recent information on trainings, exercising and right nutrition I am reading militarygradenutritionals.com/blog. I have found a lot of tips which help me keep moving and never stop.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

