Bigfoot Run in Yacoult, WA

Last year I wrote about the Bigfoot Run our family raced in during summer vacation. This year as we were planning our trip to Washington/Oregon my son Josh specifically requested that we go to the Bigfoot Run again this summer. I was going a bit earlier on the trip to attend the Olympic Trials in Eugene. Friday night Oiselle was throwing a huge Fashion Show and party that I really wanted to attend. I decided on the Trials and then an early departure from Eugene to pickup the family in Portland before heading to my brother’s house. We would all get up early Sat and drive to Yacoult for the race.

Bigfoot Fun Run racers

Yacoult seems like a great small town with lots of spirit and pride. We arrived early enough to warmup and hang out.  Josh even won a raffle prize before the race started.  Next it was time to lineup in the street and get ready to run.

Runner girls

Oiselle spirit

We also had to pose with Bigfoot and be ready in case we ran into him on the course.

Posing with Bigfoot

I had been back running a few weeks, definitely not race ready so my goal was to just have fun and be conservative so I did not hurt anything. I was planning on using my Garmin to keep me from going to fast, when the battery died at the start line I decided Josh could be my pacer. He was hoping to slide in under 22 minutes but mainly wanted to beat his dad again.

Right before the 1 mile mark I pushed ahead of Josh a bit which was nice because then I told everyone to cheer for him. I looked to be in about 3rd place. I was trying to dial down my competitive spirit but it is so hard to do! It felt really great to be running these gentle hills in nice weather. I came to a turnaround and passed the 2nd place guy. The male leader was up ahead and with in catching distance  but I decided to settle in where I was and not push the pace. Several times I passed the kids or my husband and we high-fived.

I rounded the corner and cruised to the finish line smiling as my sister in-law Carren captured it on video tape. I ran 21:11 2nd place overall and 1st female.  What a journey this past year had been. Last year when we were here I was fresh off a 2:47 marathon and had my hopes set on qualify for the Olympic Trials. Now I was just trying to return from running after 6 months off. It felt so good to be back out there.

I turned around waiting for my son and rest of the family. Once my kids finished we headed back on the course to cheer on the runners. After a bit I decided to go run out and see if my niece was walking or running. She decided to walk this year and was having fun with her dad. She has been training on the elliptical at home and wants to run it next year.

Josh 4th overall 22:38 1st child

Kevin 5th overall 23:41

Katherine 8th overall 25:46 2nd child

kids awards

winners trophy

Kids hung out in the grass with snacks while we waited for the awards and clapped for the finishers. It was such a fun morning!! As we were walking to the car a man stopped me and asked my name. He mentioned he had read my blog from last summers race!

Many thanks to the town of Yacoult for hosting such a fun event for the whole family!!

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

