3 day juice cleanse story

I heard about juice cleansing from my friend Terri Antonio. I have wanted to purchase a juicer for a while so this was the final incentive.  I have had the juicer 2 days and totally love it. An added benefit is that Josh is getting more fruit and veggies in his diet since he loves the juices (well most of them). His favorite is blueberry, apple, spinach and lemon. I purchased the Jack Lalane juicer from Costco for $89.99 price seemed so good and the return policy is great if it did not work out. I also bought a cartload of organic produce on the same trip to Costco. I got 10lbs of carrots for $4 bucks what a steal!

I thought I would share my experience with the juice cleanse. I decided to do it because I have heard about it and was curious, I don’t think I could be running and do just juice. I have been having more problems with my  allergies and just got off my asthma medicine. I am wondering if it would help with inflammation too. Curious about if it will cause weight loss, probably but then I imagine I will return to normal (not trying to lose weight just maintain). Starting weight 124.8 lbs.

I was originally refered to jointhereboot.com but the website was acting all crazy so I got 2 books from the library. 3 day cleanse by Zoe Sakoutis & Erica Huss( good for directions) and The Juicing Lady’s Guide to Juicing for Health (good for specific symptoms) by cherie Calbom.

After reading the book I followed the level 3 Excavation Cleanse from The 3 day cleanse book. It called for a total of 6 drinks per day: 1 fruit, 1 nut milk and 4 green. I decided I would drink more if need be for hunger. I did not want to be starving and I have a very high metabolism plus I wanted to be exercising too.

They mention a stage to  prepare for the cleanse but since I already don’t eat meat, sugar, wheat and very little dairy decided to just do a bit before the first day. I did not write it down exactly but hear is what I remember

-breakfast my typical oatmeal with granola, morning through afternoon 2 juices (1 green 1 fruit), afternoon snack popcorn and puffins, dinner mexican chop salad and cheese crisp (gluten-free), before bed nutmilk juice (made in blender).

Thursday Day 1 juicing cleanse

630am upon waking hot water with lemon, Greens & Apple juice

830am Greens and Apple juice

9am 1/2 nutmilk 930-11 Bikram Yoga class

11am 1/4 nutmilk and carrot apple juice 12pm elliptical 45 minutes

1pm mean green juice

245pm 1/4 nutmilk

330pm Spinach Power

530pm Healthy Sinus (super nasty with radishes) 6-74)5pm worked with Nicole (physical therapy

8pm nutmilk

Felt good all day. Extremely surprised I was not totally starving! I am a person that generally travels with food in my purse, car and eat 5-6x per day. When I am not eating I am thinking about what I will eat next, in other words I have a big appetite.

Friday Day 2 juicing cleanse

515am upon waking hot water with lemon, Greens & Apple juice

6-730 Bikram Yoga (starving during yoga)

745 Nutmilk 830-9 elliptical machine

930 Spinach-blueberry-apple-lemon

1030 Carrot-apple-lime

1130 carrot-apple-lime

115 nutmilk

345 mango strawberry with rice milk

615 gazpacho soup

7 pineapple clementine

8 nutmilk

I woke up at 430am full of energy, like I was ready to race a marathon (so bizarre). After laying in bed for a while I decided to go to Bikram yoga. In hindsight I should have had a nutmilk before yoga because before we finished the standing series I was so hungry I could have eaten my yoga mat. It became a test of wills to finish that class! I reached back to my Ironman training and thought I can handle 45 more minutes. Before the instructor could say “namaste” I leapt out of class raced home and made a juice. I was pretty hungry most of the day so kept juicing away. I am amazed that they all taste great and if not quite the best I drop in a slice of pineapple or lemon and that does the trick. I was proud of my strong willpower as I shopped at Costco to buy snacks and food my family needed that day. Also that night my son had a pizza party for his baseball team I picked up a gluten-free pizza for him. Sitting at Barro’s Pizza starving was a test of wills!

Saturday Day 3

8 upon waking hot water with lemon, Green lemonade (from jointhereboot.com)

9 nutmilk (was feeling so hungry and weak)

11 Mean Green Juice (from jointhereboot.com)

1230 Gazpacho with half avocado and 1/2 lara bar (not feeling I need to eat something just absolutely starving and feeling depleted)

3 Pineapple Orange with rice protein

6 nutmilk

9 nutmilk gazpacho soup with half avocado

I was so hungry midday that the experiment almost came to an end but I was determined to see it through. I added the gazpacho and lara bar to help sustain me and they are both raw foods. That evening I was so hungry, again just totally calorie depleted feeling. We joked around as Lauren and Kevin would eating cheese crisps and I was having my nutmilk. Everyone loved the nutmilk it was so tasty like one of those frozen coffee drinks! Yummy!

I am glad I did the whole 3 days. If I were to do it again I would add it more raw foods on day 2-3 to help with my hunger. I think that I will do some 1 day juice cleanses in the future, that seems manageable. It was hard to shop, cook and prepare food for the rest of the family while I was not eating any foods and just juicing. Stomach did feel flatter at the end of the juicing my end weight was 121.5 so a 3lb loss. I think the weight loss was partially from just not enough calories. When you juice there is the pulpy part leftover so I am not sure how many calories were in the juices I drank. Several days later my weight is back to normal. Maybe if you have weight to lose this would help you though?

The biggest boost I saw was in my allergies. My symptoms of sneezing, runny nose, itchy throat, and sinus pressure all disappeared. They came raging back on Monday for the worse allergy attack of my like. I prepared several juices from The juice lady’s guide to juicing for health book geared toward allergy relief. Never try the recipe with radishes. It was so disgusting but I downed it anyway on my way to an appt, when I came back to my car it smelled like radish vomit oh so gross.

I am continuing to include a couple of juices a day into my diet and to the rest of the family. It is amazing what veggies you can hide in the those juices with a little extra pineapple.

Here are a couple of recipes I used all organic:

-Spinach (1-2 ounces), 1 pint blueberries, 1 granny smith apple, 1 lemon (tart but tasty)

-Raw Chocolate Milk

1/2 cup soaked for 1 hour raw cashews

2cups water

3 tablespoons raw cacao nibs (we ended up using 2 tblspn of Starbucks hot cocoa mix)

1 tsp vanilla

1 1/2-2 tbspn agave nectar

2 tsp coconut oil  and pinch of sea salt

you can add some ice too if you want

-Morning Energizer (good for allergies and inflammation)

3 carrots

1 cucumber peeled

1/2 beet root plus a couple leaves

1/2 lemon peeled

1 inch piece of gingeroot peeled

-Apple Carrot Lime

2 granny smith apples

3 carrots

1/2 lime (cut up did not peel)

I hope you enjoyed my juicing story. If you try any juice cleanse or just some juices you like please share with me. I know I will miss my juicer when I travel away from home.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Green Juice! | kerrycamberg
  2. Zucchini Runner
    Jun 25, 2013 @ 18:06:23

    This was great to read! I’ve been contemplating a juice cleanse lately and reading your post helped me to gain some more knowledge in preparation. Thanks!

    Reply

    • kerrycamberg
      Jun 25, 2013 @ 18:47:18

      thanks for your comments. Me and my kids found the juice done in our Vitamix to be a bit thicker more like a smoothie too. The kids like the green juice and carrot type juice done in the juicer and smoothies (with rice milk, fruit, sometimes flax oil, yogurt, protein powder, almond butter, etc) to be made in the Vitamix. I got the idea for the juice cleanse from “Fat sick and nearly dead” movie.

      Reply

  3. Tammi
    Jun 03, 2014 @ 09:36:55

    whoah this blog іs fantɑstic i really like reading your articles.
    Stay up the great work! Ƴou understand, a lot of people are looking round for this info,
    you could help them greatly.

    Reply

  4. http://resources.simplefocus.com/bookmarks.php/damiefitzgera
    Sep 19, 2014 @ 18:49:56

    It’s remarkable to pay a visit this site and reading the views of all mates concerning this piece of
    writing, while I am also zealous of getting knowledge.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

