Life is on the upswing!

It seems like it has been awhile since I could write something positive about my injuries. This past week was definitely a turning point in my healing process. I am thankful to have the patience to give my body what it needs. I know I have not hit my running potential yet and won’t be able to without healing my body fully first.

I have been attending Bikram Yoga classes 5x a week because I think it is really helping my abdominal heal. On Monday 3-19 I was able to do all the situps in class with no pain. That is a 1st since August!! I committed to going as much as I could this week. Despite sick kids and days off school I have been able to make it 5x this week. I really love going to my friend Jon’s studio Bikram Mesa but is a bit far and requires extra travel time so does not always work. I was excited to go there twice this week.  Check out his website or on Facebook to see his class schedule. www.bikramyogamesa.com

While attending class I met an amazing woman named Melanie. We only chatted briefly but she is getting ready to go to teacher training in April to be a Bikram teacher. She will travel to Los Angeles for 9wks of training. The amazing part is she has 4 children ages 1-8 and a super supportive husband. Good Luck to her!

Every few days I try four things: plank hold, lunge, sit-up and crunch. These were all exercises that caused pain so I am using it somewhat as a test to see when I am better. Sunday all the plank, sit-up and crunch felt good. Wednesday I was able to succesfully do all four with no pain. I am not ready to starting lunging away but getting closer. I also ran very slowly for about 3 minutes with the kids I coach on Tuesday and it did not feel like anyone was kicking me in the stomach. Yes this is a slow start but that is how it is done (learning that from my house guests).

A highlight of my week was meeting with Nicole Armburst at Spooner Physical Therapy. We reviewed some video/photos she had done of me running back in Nov to examine some form problems and determine what is the root cause. Bottom line I am not firing my right glute, at all no wonder my adductor is so bad it has been doing all the work. My right knee turns in a bit my right foot kind of flings out to the side. As I get more tired this becomes worse. I remember watching video of my finish at OC Half Marathon last year and thinking WOW image how much faster I would be if the form was not so bad. I ran a 3 minute PR at that race too. Nicole gave me some really basic exercises to get me to start firing my glute. Sometimes we have to start at the bottom to rebuild.

Other fun news our family has had the opportunity to host 2 world-class runners while they get treated by Dr John Ball; Lauren Fleshman and Jemma Simpson. These girls are doing everything they can to get recovered and running again. I know they are going to make it so keep your eyes out for them at the London Olympics this summer, Jemma is 800meter and Lauren is 5k. On Wed I felt like we needed to interject a bit of fun to break up the struggles they are going through. Josh and I serenaded Lauren to the song “I will survive” we told her instead of a woman singing this to a man she was singing it to the pain! Our favorite party”go on now walk out the door just turn around now ’cause you’re not welcome here anymore(pain)”. Josh danced and I sang while Jemma recorded it. We finished the night with an ice cream party!

Dr John Ball lent Lauren this Game Day icing machine so I had to try it out. You fill it with ice and then put the cuff around your leg. It offers cold and compression. Oh so cool!

This week definitely was a turning point. I don’t mind starting with some basics because I know it is my foundation to prepare me to qualify for the Olympic Marathon Trials in 2016. Look for my upcoming post about the 3 day juice cleanse I am trying (on final day right now).

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. carren
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 21:39:16

    This is great news – patience and persistence – you model that so well. I love to hear about your goals. And the fun!

    Reply

  2. thethinksicanthink
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 03:12:05

    That is wonderful! Seems like the PRP is working, huh? My friend ended up getting it for her plantar fascitis (sp? can never spell that word). She’ll love to hear PRP worked for someone else.

    You are so lucky to live near John! He truly is amazing (and, I’m very picky about doctors). I wish I could go back to him! My adductor needs it. Or whatever it is that is wrong with me. I’m pretty sure I’m just going to have to put up with some level of pain if I’m going to run.

    Good luck in your continued recovery!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

