Cleaning up the mess!

It has been almost a month since I up updated my blog so lots to catch up on!

The Olympic Trials was an incredible experience! I was overjoyed to see my close friends racing. It was a thrill to see our countries best marathoners running for their spot on the Olympic Team. This was the day of dreams to be achieved and dreams to be broken. Many of my Bandidos teammates had traveled to Houston to watch and some to race on Sunday. On race day we watched the start and then headed out on the course. John had picked an awesome spot for us to see the runners come by 4 times in the same area. We parked the car and quickly ran to our viewing spot. I could feel the pain in my adductor and abdominal and it really hit home how injured I was at that point. I still felt the loss of not running in the trials but also thought how in the world would I have run another marathon. It was so exciting to see the top men and women fly by at a hands reach away! My friends Jaymee and Susan were in the back all smiles. Both these ladies are awesome Master runners but injured. I know it was hard for them to run at the back but hopefully seeing me spectating made them thankful to be out there.  It truly an incredible day and motivated me for 2016.

In the fall I trained with several injuries and pushed my body to the limit. I had an evaluation done in Sept along with x-rays and MRI so I knew what was wrong while I was training. My attitude was I can still run so I am still going to try to qualify then clean up the mess afterwards. In reality it is much better that I did not have to run a marathon in January! Well now 9 1/2 weeks later I am working on cleaning up the mess of injuries. Luckily most things calmed down on their own. Two areas remain not right; my right adductor and abdominal muscle. Waiting for injuries to heal is very difficult! Having patience while you can’t run is almost impossible at times. Some days I am amazed that I have a scrap of sanity left. I am trying to stay busy so I don’t sink into a state of depression. So far I have succeeded, luckily I have supportive friends.

I went to see Dr Ball again 7 weeks post marathon since my adductor and abdominal still felt exactly the same. He  checked me over one last time and recommended I see another doctor about possibly getting Platelet Rick Plasma (PRP) to promote healing in this area. In the fall when I had my first MRI PRP was recommended also so I have had this in the back of my mind. I was hoping to heal things on my own but this is not the case.

Next stop was a visit to Dr Michael Wolff at Southwest Sport and Spine. Several other runners I know have been to him for stubborn injuries. They have had PRP and been healed. I had my 1st visit a couple of weeks ago and we discussed in length my injuries and he wanted a diagnostic ultrasound and MRI. This week I got to meet with him to go over the results. My right adductor is chronically and severely strained, my abdominal muscle on the lower right has some damage also. Essentially I have repeatedly  injured this area over the years and now it is in need of some major fixing. The MRI on my low back did not show any significant problems (Yeah!). I am scheduled for PRP on Feb 22.More waiting and patience!  This will involve using the ultrasound to guide the needle to the right locations.

What is PRP? It is a substance made from your own blood to promote healing. My blood will be drawn and then placed in a centrifuge to spin it seperating the blood cells from the plasma and allows concentration of the platelets. This is then injected into the injury site under ultrasound guidance. It will create an immflatory response to promote healing.

After the PRP I will need complete rest for 1 week then easy walking during week 2. I am not totally clear on when I can start running but I think about 4 weeks post PRP.

Watch for some very exciting news and a big announcement! Good news finally!!!!!!!!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 13:22:16

    PRP Today!! SO excited for you!! We need to catch up! Hope to see you soon.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

