Training Partners are the best!

The Alter G continues to be part of my running training. I set it at 85% of my weight so it is gentler on my body than running on the road. It can get pretty boring so I have started doing my mental training and race visualization while I run. I am no longer staring out the window into the parking lot, I am now running the course in Sacramento. I have read about it enough to have an idea what it is going to look like. I did this for Grandma’s Marathon and I remember going to the start line with the feeling that I had already been there before! I have really been focusing on hitting mile 20 at 2:05 and how the clock is going to look and how I am going to feel. I then just run that last 10k like it is a piece fo cake.

This past Sunday I had a big run 16 miles last 10 at 6:30 pace, so I called in the heavy hitters for a little help and encouragement. I have been blessed to have so many awesome training partners. The two that have helped me the most this year are Susan Loken, and Flash. Susan has been dealing with some injuries so we had not run in a while together but she came to warmup with me. Flash showed up with Daniel in tow for 2 miles of warmup then the fast stuff.

I pulled into the parking lot that morning full of excitement ready to own this run! Susan jumps out of the car and is blaring my favorite song lately “I won’t back down” We danced and sang around a bit before the run. What a great way to start!!!

After our warmup we met up with the guys and headed out. I was feeling a bit breathless during the warmup but trying to put it out of my mind.  I felt very positive about hitting the pace today. a few miles in my breathing was getting pretty labored and I was trying to regulate it. This is something I really need to practice before the race, my asthma is getting better but not clearing up completely. My right hip was killing me after a few pickup miles and my knee has been hurting since last Sunday’s 20 mile run. I find it interesting that it never enters my mind to quit, instead I just keep finding  away to make it work.

here are the pick up mile splits

1-622

2-634

3-623

4-627

5-625

6-638 stopped to stretch hip and regroup

7-624-getting it back together

8-649 Flash calling the workout over!

I had all the tools I needed to be successful today but it just was not in the cards to hit 10 miles at 630. I feel very blessed and thankful to have training partners to help me through the good times and bad. When I stopped I knew I gave it everything I had and needed to put this workout behind me and look to the present. In reality kind of want to lay on the sidewalk in a heap and cry because I have been working so hard and having so many challenges, too bad I am not a quitter. Rushed home to a quick ice bath (more torture) and off to church.

The rest of the week was kind of blah and I had to work hard to keep the spirits up. On Monday stopped in to see Dr Ball and figure out what he could do for me. My right knee is now bothering me quite a bit just when I bend it. Turns out not a whole lot today just way too much inflammation!!! He suggested talking to sports med dr about something for the inflammation and pain.

Tuesday kicked off our running program at school. This will be the 5th year I have been coaching the kids and it is so fun! I really love working with all the different age kids (kindergarten-6th grade). I have many new faces and a great parent volunteer, Heather. I think we are going to have a lot of fun this year. I want to share my goal with the kids and hope to inspire them to go after big dreams too!!

I did some cross training and ran on Alter G a couple of times. Thursday it was back to South Mountain for another 12miler. I was hoping to have some faster times compared to the other couple runs out there. I had more pain on this run again (hip and knee)and just gutted it out to finish as strong as I could. Last mile was 634 going up hill so I felt great about that. Once I got home I used Garmin connect to upload my run and then compare the 3 runs side by side mile by mile. Ugh about the same!!!! I was really hoping for some improvement. Ok time to “Be Relentless Positive”.

Friday met with the sports med dr to discuss my options. We talked about some things to do the 2 weeks before the race to help with inflammation and asthma. Treatment options for the next few weeks were Prolotherapy or PRP. Both of these involve some injections into the sore area (which spot to choose or maybe there is a full body option). After the treatment there would be several rest days. I have been thinking about it all weekend and just don’t think it is worth the risk. It might require too much down time and I would miss a lot of training.

Right now I am focusing on training smart! Generally when training times are not where you want them there is a tendency to go and hammer it. Well no way I can increase my load or intensity too much. I adjusted this Sunday’s run from 22 down to 17 miles. I felt pretty good on the run and the pace was decent averaging 713. Just a few more weeks to hold it together!

The good news is I had my birthday Oct 29 and I have been getting faster every year that I started triathlon/running 7 years ago. So looking forward to getting faster this year!

Next up racing Phoenix 10k on Nov 6. Really excited because I have not raced since June!! I am going to have to dust off my racing flats. Planning on a fast pain-free race!

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

