Running happy in my new Brooks!

After several weeks of asthma problems and painful runs I am finally over the hump! Breathing good and pain-free!!! Running happy in my new purple Brooks Adrenalines!!!

I have index cards that I carry with me all the time. Blank cards to add new thoughts. Motivational and visionary cards to keep me focused on my goal. If I get stuck waiting somewhere I pull them out and read through the cards. At night I read through the cards or some of “Mind Gym” book. I came up with a new idea, writing down successful runs.

Here is what my first card says: Legs were really fatigued at start of run, not sure if I am going to be able to do this workout. Just believe! Awesome 10 miler with Flash today. Goal was 10 miles last 5 in 6:30 pace. Stopped on hill during 9th mile as I started having the onset of an asthma attack. Flash yelled at me “no stopping” and a few other words I immediately took off got up the hill, calmed breathing, and picked up pace. Ran last mile n 6:21! Take that asthma! Note to self” Run fast or bring out Angry Flash”.

I plan on reading these cards the week of the race to remind myself how ready I am to run a sub 2:45 marathon. I like to think of them as deposits in the bank!

Reducing the inflammation in my body has not been easy. I reflected on what has worked in the past and tried some new things. I have been gluten-free for 3.5 years, vegetarian 27 yrs and sugar-free about 95% of the time. These two items tend to cause major problems for me.

Several years ago I worked with a naturopathic doctor to help with my myriad of health issues. She had me do a food elimination diet taking the top allergenic foods out of my diet for 3 weeks. Sound simple? Not so much. They include wheat, dairy, eggs, soy, corn, peanuts, shell-fish, and sugar. When you don’t eat meat it does not leave a lot to eat! I took a protein supplement called UltraInflamax by Metagenics. After the 3 weeks I slowly introduced one food at a time. Wheat was a major problem!  When I finished I had never felt better! Many of you know my son has multiple food allergies, I think that makes sticking with it easier.

The last few weeks I have been brainstorming anything I can do to help me reach my goal of qualifying for the Olympic Trials.

-reduce inflammation through diet, medication, vitamins/supplements.

-Mental training

-Run Smart (maybe this means Alter G, cross training, etc.)

-Foam roll every day

-Proper rest

I knew I needed to reduce my inflammation to help some of my injuries and asthma. So goodbye to dairy, soy, peanuts and any little bit of sugar I did eat. I really did not think I could eliminate eggs while marathon training. Corn does not really seem to be an issue and I love Mexican food so it is staying. Hello inflammatory detox shakes I discovered in the book “Cleanse your body clear your mind” by Dr. Jeffrey Morrison. I found this survey in his book and took it. I scored a 39. Want to check where you are at? Take the survey at this link. http://www.morrisonhealth.com/program/symptom-survey/neurological

I discovered an awesome restaurant called Pomegranate Cafe. Oh my gosh so good!! I had there Raw Tacos and make a similiar vesion of  them almost every day. I have a huge addiction to Mexican food.

I have also worked with my asthma doctor to try to break this cycle I have been in since the beginning of August. I had mentioned in previous blog we went on a family trip to Greer in northern AZ and there were devastating forest fires there this summer. I did an 18mile run in the forest and the smoke caused some problems with my lungs. For now I am back on some inhalers and Singulair. Once the Olympic Trials is over I will work diligently to get off of this stuff! He also gave me a short dose of some medication to help eliminate the rest of the inflammation. It has the added benefit of helping with some of my injuries. So finally breathing better and out of pain!

Sunday I ran 20 miles at an average pace of 7:18 per mile. I really like to get these long runs under 7minute pace! I asked Coach John last week what type of pace to shoot for and he said 7:15-7:45 would be great. So I am trying to be satisfied with the 718. I am celebrating 20 miles of pain-free running!!! I was fortunate to run almost all of it with Arianna (since it was a slower day for her). This girl is one to watch! Last year at Chicago Marathon she had a struggle and did not qualify. January she got the job done at PF Changs RNR marathon. Then in June she hits the A qualifying time at Grandma’s marathon! Did I mention she is super positive and about the cutest, spunkiest runner I know!

Looking forward to a solid week of training. Next Sunday 16miles last 10 in 65 minutes. I know I can nail this workout!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ariana
    Oct 18, 2011 @ 16:20:46

    Love you girl!!! I am so glad you are posting all of this. Like you said, your journey has NOT been easy, but it will make your OTQ in Sacramento all the more meaningful. I am so excited for you and proud of all you have done to overcome your hurdles. You are hard-working, diligent, and determined, you WILL be with me in Houston on 1/14/11 ready to toe the line!
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

