I won’t back down!! 27 days to go

My new theme song by Tom Petty “I won’t back down”. Life continues to throw me challenges and obstacles and I refuse to back down. So to quote Tom Petty’s song”there aint no easy way out, I stand my ground and I won’t back down”.

# My foot continues to do better or hold the same. This is something to celebrate!

#2Right hip is hit or miss. I had a very successful 20 miler Sun 8-28 with Susan. There was a glimmer of my uninjured self throwing down sub7 min pace the last several miles feeling stronger and stronger despite the heat! This sunday I was to run 22 and only eeked out 17 with severe pain the last several miles in my hip. I tried wintercrest cream for pain, aleve, fluids, stretching but could not overcome the pain in my hip. I am putting my faith and trust in Dr Ball to get me over this hump.

#3We visited Greer in northern AZ Aug4-6 and the running in the smoky forest (from Wallow Fire) flared up my asthma and has severely affected my asthma. Every track and tempo workout since Greer has abruptly ended with an asthma attack. I visited the dr and tests confirmed the inflammation in my lungs. I am back on several medications that will hopefully help me train and heal! Luckily my doctor worked with me to determine which drugs are allowed in training and competition. It is highly likely that I will be drug tested at my next race. Let me tell you I am not going through all this to have a drug testing issue due to some asthma medicine!!!!

#5 The heat has been a huge challenge but not much I can do about it. I did decide to do all runs under 8 miles on the treadmill so I can get more sleep. The 330&4am wakings have taken a huge toll on my rest, recovery and overall health.

#6 Life! This week lots of fun and excitement but that does not mix well with serious marathon training. Out of town visitors for my mom’s wedding, wedding related events, husband’s 40th birthday. Great stuff but waking up at 330 and going to be bed at 11pm is not quite what my body needs. I hope to recover more this week!

I have been working with a new sports medicine Dr. Carfagno to help determine my overall health status and fatigue issues. I have had some testing done and unfortunately due to a lab screwup I have to go back again. Hoping to get more answers and solutions soon!! He did a RMR test to help determine how many calories I burn at rest=1600.  So he determined that I have not been eating near enough and told me to add between 500-700 calories per day to my diet. Wow that seems like a lot but it has made me feel not so exhausted.

Sun-20 miles hills felt like a rock star!!!

Mon6 miles treadmill, Dr Ball, Jon-stretcher, allergy shot, blood draw testing

Tues track 10- 2x2miles in 12:10 was goal, 605,623 then 630 and asthma attack

Wed spin class, weights core training met with trainer at gym

Th14-7×1 mile 620 asthma attack during last set

Fri-6 miles treadmill (wedding rehearsal and dinner)

Sat switched run for Bikram Yoga to help asthma and hip (mom’s wedding)

total miles 56

Sun 17 (husband’s 40th bday party)

Ok so all the whining is over with!! Just needed to get that out of the way. After looking at my week last week I realize I was trying to be Superwoman! Goal this week successfully hitting all my runs, controlling my asthma, rest, eat, recover. Big exciting news is I am going to head to CA next weekend to do a time trial so 18 mile run with 15 at marathon pace of 6:15. Several Bandidos are going and this is exactly what I need to boost my confidence. I can’t believe I will actually be able to run somewhere cool! I will report back next week. ]

I am remaining as focused as I can be for Twin Cities. I am relying a lot on my confidence I earned at Grandma’s marathon in June. Off to bed for now to get some rest after I foam roll!

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

