Keep Believing!!!!

Last couple of weeks have been tough. I have been running with the hope that my foot would heal and I can make it to Twin Cities Marathon Oct 2. My foot has been not getting worse so I am very thankful for that unfortunately my hip started having problems on my long runs a couple weeks ago. Last week I was feeling overwhelmed with training, lack of sleep and trying to keep injuries at bay. I have 2 out of state races planned, AFC half marathon in San Diego and Hood to Coast in Oregon. I have been really looking forward to these events!

Yesterday I had a long run of 20 miles scheduled. I crashed and burned hard both physically and mentally. I think it is important to share the victories and the hard days. About mile 5 my hip started to hurt by mile 7 it was excruciating so I turned back knowing I could not make it 20 miles. Around mile 10 a song came on my ipod with the line “how much strength does it take?” well that just threw me over the edge mentally so I stopped for a good cry more from the emotional pain than the physical pain. As I ran by the Biltmore resort I was wishing I had a credit card so I could just checkin! Somehow I made it a total of 14 miles back to my car.

Monday morning came and I put on my brave face to go see Dr Ball and find out the prognosis. He told me it was not a full on crisis yet but I need to pull out of AFC next weekend and Hood to Coast so I can rest and recover a bit. At this point I am still hoping to pull it together for Twin Cities in 44 days! If not there will be a plan B.

I knew trying to stack 3 marathons in less than 7 months was risky but with a short time line to qualify for the Olympic Trials I did not have too much choice. For now I believe I will get better and will do everything in my power to get healed.

Many of my friends are headed to San Diego to race and I know they are all going to do awesome, I will really miss being there with them and racing. This Sunday will be the big test, can I run 18miles without issues with my foot or hip. I believe I can and then continue to train for Twin Cities!!!!!!!!!! (keep your fingers crossed)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jaymee
    Aug 21, 2011 @ 23:16:45

    Yes, Kerry. Keep believing! You will get there. You do have to listen to your body. You have the best therapist in the nation helping you. That is huge! Trust the magic Dr. Ball! I look forward to reading about your OTQ at TCM.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

