Last big week, Sponsorship

Well it is the last big week of running before starting a bit of a taper. It is hard to believe I made it this far and my body has held up really well. I dont think I could run this fast/long without the help of someone very talented, Dr. John Ball. My right hamstring has been a little dicey off and on but I have only made minimal training adjustments. Making it through Sunday’s 14miles at 625 pace without any hamstring issues was a huge success. School got out last week so it has been very busy running and taking the kids everywhere they need to be.  I have been getting up most mornings by 445 to get my run in and back in time for Kevin to get to work then start my shift of taxi driver/summer camp counselor with the kids and their friends/activities. I have decided next week needs to be way toned down. I need more rest!

I got a new sponsor this week Honey Stinger they make the all natural gels I use to fuel myself while running. Yummy and no junk in them.

 

Words cannot describe how much Dr. John Ball has helped me with my running over the last 3 years. Many of my friends have been to see him so they know but for those that don’t. He gets what it is like to be an injured runner. He uses Graston and ART to treat and heal and is a gifted and talented healer. He has helped me alot to keep my hamstring healthy so I can train at this level. Yes it hurts to get treated but it is worth it ten fold. Without him I simply would not be where I am today with my running.

The week ended with a bang on Fri night. Kevin and I were all set for a date night when during a sibling scuffle Katherine shut Josh’s fingers in the door and did not open it right away thinking he was joking about his fingers being in the door. Usually the tables are turned and she is injured. Luckily I have the best ice packs and anti-inflammitory gels ever so he is feeling better already. Such is the life of a mother and a runner!

I am ready for the race to be here, only 14 more days.

Sun 18 (last 14 in 325)

Mon easy 6

Tues 8

Wed 10

Thur 15 last 3 at 630pace (had to back off fast pace due to cranky hamstring)

Fri 6 tried some strides to test the hamstring and it felt good

Sat 8

week total 71 Yipee!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Laura Whitlach
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 21:33:29

    Good luck Kerry! I am sure all the training will pay off. And tell Josh that his injury was just karma doing it’s thing…my kids hear that a lot!
    Take care!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

