Building Confidence on Beeline! 14 miles at 6:30 pace

This morning was the big one! When I 1st saw this workout on my schedule weeks ago I was afraid, 18 miles last 14 avg 6:30 pace. How could my body do this if I could not wrap my mind around it. I thought just believe it can happen and it will. Coach John had a plan: start in Fountain Hills and then hit the beeline hwy very few stop lights and net downhill. This would hopefully give us a little edge since we would be running in the heat and help us nail the pace building our confidence. I was super thankful when my trusty training partner Susan Loken said she would do a big part of it with me (all but last 2 miles). Arianna was going to warmup with us but she had her own plan even faster than us, goal 6:10 pace. Not sure if the girls knew my nickname for this area from my Ironman days, head out to the Beeline for your Beatin! Tried to erase that thought from my head.

With our plan in place we decided to start early which meant getting up at 3:45am so I could meetup with everyone and have Arianna’s husband Matt drive us to Fountain Hills. We started the morning with locked bathrooms in the park, well the bushes will just have to do! The first 4 miles we warmed up around Ftn Hills on some Hills! Just before Shea we started picking up the pace.

The beginning was downhill which was helping to push the pace. Before long there was Matt’s smiling face with drinks, I chose to carry my bottle and switch out about half way through. Mile 7 took my 1st green apple caffeine gel. The only time I get any caffeine hard training days/races.

Before long we made our turn onto the Beeline and the pace was going good. Susan was at my side and I knew it was going to be ok! Felt great all along. A few little inclines but for the most part a slight downhill and tiny bit of wind. My mantra for today was “fluid, smooth, strong” and “focus”. It is so easy to lose a tiny bit of focus and start slowing down. At Grandma’s Marathon I will be fighting for every second for 26.2 miles.

Susan finished up and I had the last 2 miles on my own. I decided to listen to my ipod to help keep me going. I passed George who was out there with us today doing 16miles. I felt strong and confident as I ran to my finish line; Matt. Susan the Cube car.

Yippee I did it faster than I needed!!!!!!!!!!! Average pace 6:25! Here are the splits:

1-630

2-624

3-620

4-624

5-622

6-625

7-624

8-625

9-623

10-625

11-629

12-628

13-627

14-625 (listening to Lady GaGa “Born this Way” FAST

Huge thanks to Susan, Matt, Arianna(avg pace 6:04), George, and John.

Did I mention Coach John pushed his 5yr old in the stroller at a 6:04 pace!

20 more days til the race.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne King
    May 29, 2011 @ 23:43:26

    You keep going girl! Remember to “stick to the plan”.
    Love,
    Anne K.

    Reply

  2. Ariana
    May 30, 2011 @ 12:43:05

    YOU are amazing girl!!! SO happy and excited for you!
    Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

