OC Half Marathon Race

Race started at 6am in Newport Beach sunny skies about 60 degrees, no wind on the course. First mile my legs felt a little slow (maybe a few more strides next race), breathing was fast. I was worried about going out too fast and wanted to control my pace. 1st split was 6:29, yikes too slow. Everything came together running down hill on mile 2 split 6:07. I had driven and ran almost the entire course which was good since there was a hill around mile 10.5 that I was not planning on. Course felt more up and down hills than I would have thought. I feel like I put out consistent effort with an increase in speed around mile 9 and then again after the last hill about mile 10.5.  After last hill I could see a girl up ahead about 1/4 mile and deicded to catchup and pass her. Ran alone for most of race except through the neighborhoods around mile 8-9.5, not too many spectators on the course. Legs felt great. No soreness during or after the race (ususually my right hamstring gets a little cranky going that fast for that long but it held up beautifully). Course was beautiful. Enjoyed testing out that pace, in retrospect maybe I could have gone a little faster. I wanted to have a positive experience and a PR and I definately got that.

Was so happy to have my supportive husband and awesome kids at the race. A few fellow Bandidos were there too.

Here are my splits for the OC Half Marathon

1-6:29
2-6:07
3-6:18
4-6:31
5-6:09
6-6:20
7-6:31
8-6:38
9-6:17
10-6:22
11-6:20
12-6:14
13-6:16
overall time 1:23:41

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Anne King
    May 20, 2011 @ 21:05:28

    You go girl! Very excited to hear about the progress toward your goals.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

