Big running dreams for 2011!

In Sept 2009 I raced on Team USA at the Duathlon World Championships. I loved doing triathlon and duathlons but decided to hang up my bike and follow my true passion; running. I wanted to see how far I could go. Could I run a sub 2:46 marathon and qualify for the 2012 marathon Olympic Trials?

The journey since that decision has been filled with ups and downs and tons of adventure. I always wanted to document my story so I could capture it (I wish I had done this for my Ironman in 2007).

What inspires me: (short answer) I run because I can!

(long answer) In 2005 I ran my 1st marathon as a fundraiser for my friend Susan Fitzgerald-Garcia. She was a mother just like me with a 3 yr old. One big difference her health was suffering due to complications from a double lung transplant. I wanted to do what I could to help. Susan said I always inspired her. I don’t think she ever knew how much she impacted my life in a postivie way! Shortly after that marathon (ran 3:31) Susan passed away. I ran the Boston marathon the next year in her memory. She is on my mind whenever I run.

I hope to share my journey this year as I go after the big goal of qualifying for the Olympic Trials to be held in Houston, TX  Jan 2012.

Livestrong Austin Marathon 2-11

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anne King
    Apr 07, 2011 @ 21:14:17

    Very nice start Kerry. Looking forward to your tales.

    Reply

  2. Shawn
    May 21, 2011 @ 15:33:08

    Cool you have to do what makes you happy in life. I hope u make it to the Olympics go for it.

    Sincerely,
    Shawn

    Reply

Leave a Reply

From Joy to the World

LA Entertainment Industry Coverage from a USC Content Creator

Jay Dicharry's Website, An Athlete's Body

Jay Dicharry, physical therapist and biomechanist

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

