Skirtchaser racer!

I have no idea where the time goes lately! I do know that I need to become a bit more organized as my training and racing schedule increases this year.

Training has been going well I am running between 40-45 miles per week pain-free and lots of variety in my workouts. I am doing better with my strength training but it has been nearly impossible to get to any yoga classes. It is always a balance. I am trying to recognize more opportunities to squeeze in strength/core/yoga. The other day I had to take Josh to the dr and we were waiting forever so I started doing my lunges in the pediatricians office (we were in our own room). I have been known to lunge around the park at football practice. I figure everyone already thinks I am crazy for running marathons might as well get something accomplished.

Red sticker on skirt means I am in a "couple" pink means "single"

Red sticker on skirt means I am in a “couple” pink means “single”

Last week I raced in the Skirtchaser 5k. Ladies start 1st then the men start 3 minutes later. My goal was to not get caught by a boy! Goal accomplished.

Ladies only at the start line of SkirtchaserWhen I took a look at the course I realized there would be 4 decent hills. I was not really sure of a time goal but was thinking under 19 minutes would be good. This spring I just want to incorporate a lot of races into my training to mix things up and keep them fresh. We started off pretty fast and quickly there were 5 girls in front of me. My friend Kristi was up ahead and she has been running a bit faster than me lately so figured I was in the right spot.

fast running at SkirtchaserWe made a u-turn about half way through the race and as we were heading uphill I could see the first guys coming after us. Crap I think they are going to catch me! I saw my friend Joe who is super speedy and training for a marathon so I knew now was the time to speed up. I caught up to 2 girls and flew down the final downhill. As I approached the last hill my lungs were burning but Kristi was not turn far ahead so I decided to catch her. Once I got close I decided to get comfortable with “being uncomfortable” to further help prepare for my marathon this year. I wanted Kristi to join me so shouted “come with me” with what little breath I had. She is about 15 yrs younger so I knew she would have a good kick to help push me. We flew towards the finish line and I crossed in 18:58 she was 19:01. I finished 3rd overall! Never give up or give in.

Kristi and I posing postrace with Joe one of the guys we thought might catch us.

Kristi and I posing postrace with Joe one of the guys we thought might catch us.

We had a nice cooldown discussing the race. I look forward to training with her this year and expect to see many great things from her. Joe was a good sport to take photos with us postrace. There was an awesome beer garden, fashion show live band party after the race. We stayed until awards (I got a $50 gift certificate for Sole Sports, Yeah I always need more shoes).

My son Josh was not able to come to the race since he was with some friends. They took him to the Knights of Columbus Free Throw contest at school and he won! He moved onto the district championship. He won that yesterday and so goes to state in 3 weeks.

Josh with his prize from the Knights of Columbus basketbal free throw championship at school.

Josh with his prize from the Knights of Columbus basketbal free throw championship at school.

Yesterday I had a 14 mile run with the last 8 in 655. My legs felt so heavy and a bit sore so I decided to take a dip in the pool for an icing effect. It was sunny but about 48 degrees and super windy. Katherine snapped a couple of photos of my bravery.

bitter face as I walk into the cold pool

bitter face as I walk into the cold pool

hot decaf coffee, gluten free bagel, cell phone and Thrive book

hot decaf coffee, gluten free bagel, cell phone and Thrive book

My tip for icing in pool or tub, keep busy! I enjoyed some breakfast and a book. Legs felt better later that day.

Leave a Reply

Zucchini Runner

Eat clean. Live well. Be active.

The Local Elite

Live/Laugh/Love Running

kerrycamberg

Masters marathoner

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers

